NYS Project Management Guidebook (Release 2) System Development Lifecycle (SDLC)

The NYSFIRM Project Management Community of Practice Quarterly Meeting

The NYSFIRM Project Management Community of Practice Quarterly Meeting full roomThere are currently many different methodologies employed for system development projects within New York State agencies. Many methodologies are driven by the application development tools, by the software architecture within which the application will operate, or by the "build versus buy" decision. There are standard phases and processes which all system development projects should follow, regardless of environment and tools. This presentation provided an overview of the standard phases and major processes of the New York State System Development Lifecycle (SDLC). This overview began to position a Project Manager to plan and manage a system development project.

The material reviewed is organized according to a generic system development lifecycle. While no two-development efforts are exactly alike, all projects should progress through the same six phases:

  1. System Initiation
  2. System Requirements Analysis
  3. System Design
  4. System Construction
  5. System Acceptance
  6. System Implementation

The presentation provided the attendee with an understanding of each phase of the SDLC, and how these phases, activities and deliverables are managed in parallel to the NYS Project Management Methodology, and its respective phases, activities and deliverables. Examples were utilized throughout the presentation to illustrate key points. The presenter was Jonathan Blake, Sr. Principal Consultant, from Keane and one of the co-authors of the Methodology. For additional information, contact Joann Dunham, Co-chair NYS Project Management Community of Practice at (518) 432-3209 ext. 570.